“Cople Parish’s May 25, 1664, establishment “by order of the court” set the Yeocomico and Nomini rivers as the parish’s borders. Its earliest leader was Sir Nicholas Spencer, secretary of the Virginia colony. He was a native of Cople in Bedfordshire, England, thus Cople Parish was named.
Northern Neck Virginia Historical Society
Cop[e Parish is comprised of three Church buildings each with their own unique history. To learn more about each church, click on the buttons above.